Property of Ungus Kinglygauntlet.

Eleint, day unknown.  1369DR.
I find myself with a new journal, as my previous was lost along with all my other possessions.  As such I shall lead into this one with some brief notes of our adventures thus far.

Primary concerns:
– The Purple Dragons of Cormyr are on a self-proclaimed ‘crusade’ against Sembia, and they are carving a path through the Dalelands.  This is evidenced by Highmoon being razed to the ground and Alusair herself arresting me, during which she accused me of being a Sembian spy.  I cannot allow this to continue, so am sending out a proclamation in an attempt to warn the Dalelands and potential allies.
– My father could be in danger.  I dropped his name during interrogation, and as I find myself an escaped fugitive I would not be surprised if she has sent people there to either coax me out or interrogate him.  I am hoping my proclamation will convince them my father had nothing to do with this, however I intend on going to Thunderstone myself to be certain.
– Thus far, no news has come from Sembia.  If Cormyr are on the move I have no doubt that Sembia are too, but where Cormyr are happy to bring swathes of destruction with an army, Sembia are more likely to be manipulating things from the shadows.  We should be on our guard.

Secondary concerns:
– The Naga’s Fang.  A thieves guild I angered in Highmoon.  If I’d let them be then they would have been wiped out by Cormyr’s attack, however my own actions may have sent them fleeing to neighbouring towns which may cause more problems.  In a time of war we cannot afford for there to be threats inside the cities as well as out.
– My companions.  I am very grateful for their help, though I am increasingly worried that I may be bringing them too much trouble and attention.  Jessie was a simple happy-go-lucky traveller when I met him, and although he’s proved to be competent enough in battle it is by sheer luck that he wasn’t murdered when we were arrested; an arrest only made possible by my inability to hide myself.  Arosea clearly has skill and talent, but also a clear desire to remain inconspicuous, which is not something I excel at.  She has a tendency to fumble her words as well; not a desirable trait when being accused as a spy.  I understand my reasons for travelling to Thunderstone are selfish and quite possibly futile.  I will be leading them straight into a Purple Dragon encampment, but I can’t abandon my father… Perhaps they would be better off if I went alone.
The new girl, Lasslyn, seems a more than competent fighter.  She lacks my restraint in battle, but I have to remind myself that we’re dealing with the Steel Regent.  Alusair lacks mercy, and so should we.  But I am not yet strong enough for that.


Eleint, day unknown. 1369DR.
When we left Highmoon the forest had been set ablaze.  We do not know why.  We set up camp near a passing caravan, who accused us of being bandits.  In my frustration I asked what if we were, to which the accuser was left speechless.  We encountered bandits further down the road.  I had hoped to intimidate them to leave us alone, but a fight was unavoidable.  Lasslyn ensured at least a couple of them won’t be bothering anyone again.

 

(Players note: don’t worry, I’m not leaving- Ungus is just having a bit of a crisis as his world’s been turned somewhat upside down.  He’s not used to having people to look after, and the people he once idolised have been revealed to be dishonourable murderers which is causing him to wonder if he’s perhaps too soft.  Ironically this could very well bring more trouble, but that remains to be seen…)
(Pretentious author’s note: Ungus’ old armour was a rookie handout from the militia, and his disillusion caused him to not take an awful lot of care of it but he still wore it as a symbol of hope.  Now those same people are scum where he’s concerned, he’s ditched that armour all together in favour of full plate- a symbol of how he’s withdrawing into himself even further)

