After a night of drunken revelry, Ungus was even quieter than usual on the journey to the fort at Tasselpeak.  He had a difficult decision to make; to return home to his father, or to accompany the hundreds of refugees to ensure their safety.  He chose the latter, if only because he had grown attached to his companions and was not ready to leave them yet- and certainly not because he was terrified of the possibility of having to deal with both Alusair and his father.  The fact the refugees were vulnerable and in need of help had barely crossed his mind.
During the journey Ungus decided that he would go as far as Tasselpeak, but then he would work up the courage to go home.  He couldn’t keep running away from his problems.  However, as so often happens, fate intervened.  The governor of Tasselpeak was a loathsome individual who cared for little outside his own self-interest, and even when confronted with 500 refugees on his doorstep he refused to believe that Cormyr would be a problem to him.  What’s more, the party were given 24 hours to leave town never to return.  The group looked to Ungus to do something to help, but Ungus was at a loss for words.  Once again the decision to stay or go had been thrust upon him.  He decided he would head to the cathedral for some clarity of thought and spiritual guidance.  Ungus was barely aware that his companions had joined him, as had some old acquaintances, but an offhand comment about fire directed at him shook him from his thoughts.  Unable to deal with banter in his current state of mind, Ungus excused himself to pray in solitude.

In the quietest corner he could find, Ungus propped up his battleaxe against the wall and lit a small pool of oil at its base as a makeshift shrine to Clangeddin.  He knelt in reverence in front of it before starting his prayer.
‘Father of Battle, hear my words.  Your primary teaching is that above all else we should defend our kin; this is why I refused to join the Purple Dragons as they spoke of conquest more than protection.  But now I need to know, in your eyes what is kin?  Are family kin? Then I should return to my father, as I foolishly mentioned him to Alusair.  Are my friends kin? I may not have known them long but Jessie and Arosea are very dear to me, and although they have grown more competent since we first met I still feel they need my help.  Lasslin too- though she is a more than capable fighter, I still feel she is too reckless…’
A tear falls down Ungus’ cheek as he falls into silence, unsure how to continue.  After a moment a woman puts her hand on Ungus’ shoulder.
‘I am very sorry friend, but I couldn’t help but overhear some of your dilemma.  I may not know much of Clangeddin, but Ilmater would have me ease the pain of those in need.’
Ungus looked at the cleric with red eyes before composing himself with a half-hearted chuckle.
‘I wouldn’t expect a god to talk to me directly, and frankly I would probably feel like I was going insane.  But perhaps he has sent you to speak with me in his stead.  I would be grateful for the conversation’.
With that, the two retreated to the cleric’s cloister, to speak in more comfort.

The cleric introduced herself as Sabine, a cleric from Highdale that travels where her heart takes her, helping those in need along the way; it is her belief that Ilmater guides her to wherever she is needed most, and lo she has ended up in Tasselpeak just as an exodus of refugees arrive.  They spoke a while of Ungus’ adventures thus far; of the Naga’s Fang, the antics his friends had gotten up to, and of Cormyr’s treachery.
‘I should have been a better man.  They were talking about a crusade when I tried to join them, but I was too busy thinking of my own honour and dignity to consider the implications of that.’
‘Don’t beat yourself up, Ungus.  None of us knew what Cormyr was planning.  They’ve convinced the whole realms that they fight for good and justice, so why would you think their crusade was a bad thing?’
‘When are crusades ever a good thing?’ Ungus snapped, ‘All they do is lead to more deaths of innocent people’.
‘But sometimes that is necessary for the greater good,’ Sabine retorted, ‘Ilmater teaches that suffering is both inevitable and necessary.  Thousands more would suffer if kingdoms were left under despotic rule.  The fact they’re crusading against Sembia is troubling, but we can’t dwell on what we could have done without knowing the facts.  We can only act on the things we know; if we don’t know what’s coming then how can we prepare for it, right?’
Sabine gave a slight smile, and after a moment Ungus’ looked at her with widened eyes as if coming to a realisation.
‘I should go’.
‘Yes, you should’.

