Ungus walked despondently through the streets of Tasselpeak, his mind a storm of emotions.  He had barely survived the first day of the siege, yet it felt like he had done next to nothing.  He understood the importance of his role in the battle, but it didn’t mean he had to approve of it.  The plan was sound; As Arosea provided ranged support from atop the keep Lasslyn would defend the front gate, thinning out their numbers and forcing them towards the market, which had been laced with explosives.  Jessie would then give the signal for Arosea to light the fuse, leaving any stragglers for Ungus to finish off at the last line of defense in front of the castle.  By all accounts, the plan went flawlessly.  But seeing the bodies by the sides of the streets left Ungus wondering if it was truly the right course of action.  Would it really have been so terrible to just give the fort over to Cormyr?  Would less blood have been shed if Ungus had held the front gate with Lasslyn?
In front of the Infirmary, Ungus saw Sabine up ahead kneeling over a fallen soldier.  This area was set ablaze by Lasslyn once the market had been revealed as a trap, and this poor soul was one of those caught in the flames.  Sabine appeared to be deep in prayer, her hand resting on the man’s shoulder as he cried in pain.  A moment later a soft light emerged from her hand, and the man’s body fell lifeless.  Sabine stood and for the first time Ungus saw her without her faint smile, wearing instead an expression of what seemed almost like disgust.
‘Sabine…? Is that you?’ Ungus inquired, taken aback by such a change in her demeanour.
‘Oh Ungus!’ cried Sabine, her smile quickly returning to her face, ‘Sorry you had to see that.  It’s the darker side of being a cleric’.
‘I thought you eased suffering’ the dwarf said suspiciously.  Sabine continued to smile, though it was an empty one.
‘I did.  He would suffer more had he lived, as opposed to a quick merciful death.  Cure Light Wounds can only do so much, and in some cases Inflict Light Wounds does so much more.  I see you are still unconvinced, dwarf.  Perhaps you should join me and see this practise in action, and maybe tell me a bit about your troubles on the way.’
Ungus nodded.

The pair headed towards the front gate where the highest concentration of bodies lay.  The area was busy with people carrying away the dead from both sides, as well as clerics performing their last rites.
‘By Clangeddin’s silver beard… How did Lasslyn survive this with nary a scratch on her?’
‘She’s a competent warrior.  Word has already spread of her lack of fear.  Apparently when Cormyr tried to intimidate us with that boulder her response was to insult the captain’s manhood’.
‘Hah!  Good on her,’ Ungus chuckled, ‘When I heard the boulder hit I expected half the town to flee, I can’t imagine how her comrades on the front lines must have felt.’
‘It was a wise decision to have her at the front.  I know I wouldn’t want to be greeted by a bloodthirsty barbarian, let alone a female dwarf.  Anyway, lets move on.  It looks like this area’s covered by my brethren.’

On the path to the market, the bodies were more sparse.  It was clear less fighting occurred here, instead the invaders were trying to rush past to get to the market.
‘There’s one,’ said Sabine, indicating a soldier almost imperceptibly still breathing.  She hurried over to him, checking whether he was conscious.  Unfortunately he wasn’t.
‘First, they must be conscious for me to give a suitable diagnosis.  I am only blessed with a certain amount of spells per day, so I will use a simple Cure Minor Wounds to wake him’.  With a single word a spark came from Sabine’s finger, causing the man’s eyes to suddenly open and he gave a splutter, coughing up a small amount of blood.  Sabine rest her hand on his shoulder, gently trying to reassure him.
‘Shh… Please, try to focus.  Look at me, I want to help you.  Can you talk?’
The man gulped.  He opened his mouth to speak and coughed some more.  Eventually he managed to say the word ‘…yes’.
‘Good.  Tell me, do you fear death?’
The man’s eye’s opened wide, as did Ungus’.  Sabine kept a perfectly straight face, giving no indication of where she was going with this question.
‘Ye… Yes! Of course! I don’t want to die!  I have a family!’
‘Then I shall ease your suffering.’
As before, Sabine closed her eyes, muttered a few words of prayer, and a light came from her hand.  Within seconds the man coughed again but this time there was no blood.  Looking at his own hands like they were alien, he propped himself up and managed to stand.  Sabine smiled.
‘You are well enough to walk, but still require further healing.  Please go to the infirmary to rest up.’
The man nodded, and Ungus looked on in awe as he quickly hobbled away.
‘I have but one spell left, and it’s getting dark.  Lets head back to the castle and find your friends.’

Passing the remains of the market, Ungus remembered the noise from when the explosion went off and the screams that followed.  That was the moment he realised the gravity of the situation.  It all seemed like a strategic training exercise until then, not helped by the fact Ungus was left alone to listen to the sounds of fighting in the distance.  When he saw those burned figures advancing toward him, still desperately trying to fight despite their injuries, to tell the truth Ungus was terrified.  So much so he broke from his position and dropped his shield to kill these barely distinguishable creatures, and even then he fumbled with his axe before he was able to deliver the final blow.  Thankfully he had turned his panic into pure anger by the time the commander arrived, and he managed to channel that rage into his attacks, delivering devastating blows one after the other until his foe eventually fell; though unfortunately in his rage he had let his guard down and suffered significant injuries of his own.  On the approach to the castle, the fear came flooding back to the dwarf as he saw, sitting up against the wall with a trail of blood leading to him, the very same commander he had engaged in battle.
‘After all that, he still lives?’
‘Barely.  He seems somewhat disoriented.  Let me handle this.’
Sabine approached the man, and once again laid her hand on his shoulder.
‘You would help me even though I am enemy?’
‘Ilmater would have me help all those who suffer, it is not my position to judge whether you are right or wrong.’
The man cackled.
‘Foolish girl, once I’m back on my feet I will ensure this keep falls!  Cormyr will prevail!’
Ungus prepared his axe, but Sabine motioned for him to stay back.  The cleric kept her usual calm smile.
‘Before I help you, tell me- Do you fear death?’
‘Hah of course not!  I am afraid of nothing!’
‘Very well.  Allow me to ease your suffering.’
One final time, light came from Sabine’s hand.  The commander laughed and attempted to stand during the prayer, only to fall back to the floor.  He looked at the cleric with pleading eyes, and in a moment his eyes lost all focus as he fell lifeless.  Ungus walked over and nudged him with his foot.
‘The bastard.  He deserved to die.’
Sabine gave Ungus a sideways glance, her head still bowed in front of the commander.
‘I wasn’t lying when I said it is not my place to judge.  I do my job.  If someone would find more peace in death then they would in life, so be it.  Had the two people you saw today’s answers been different, then a grieving mother would have to explain to her son why his father couldn’t come home, and Cormyr would have another commander rejoin their ranks,’ Sabine’s smile returned once more, ‘Unless of course someone was to cut him down before he could escape.  Regardless, I would be satisfied I had done my duty.’
Ungus frowned.
‘I know it is hard to comprehend, friend, but the gods have plans for us all.  Now tell me, dwarf; do you fear death?’

